Theater Feature: 2020 TONY AWARD NOMINATIONS

Post image for Theater Feature: 2020 TONY AWARD NOMINATIONS

by John Todd on October 15, 2020

in Theater-New York


Nominations in 25 competitive categories for the 74th Annual “Tony” Awards were announced today by James Monroe Iglehart on the official Tony Awards YouTube channel.


Best Play 

Grand Horizons, Author: Bess Wohl
The Inheritance, Author: Matthew López
Sea Wall/A Life, Authors: Simon Stephens & Nick Payne
Slave Play, Author: Jeremy O. Harris
The Sound Inside, Author: Adam Rapp

Best Musical 

Jagged Little Pill
Moulin Rouge! The Musical
Tina – The Tina Turner Musical

Best Revival of a Play 

Betrayal, Author: Harold Pinter
Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune, Author: Terrence McNally
A Soldier’s Play, Author: Charles Fuller

Best Book of a Musical 

Jagged Little Pill, Diablo Cody
Moulin Rouge! The Musical, John Logan
Tina – The Tina Turner Musical, Katori Hall, Frank Ketelaar and Kees Prins

Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics) Written for the Theatre 

A Christmas Carol, Music: Christopher Nightingale
The Inheritance, Music: Paul Englishby
The Rose Tattoo, Music: Fitz Patton and Jason Michael Webb
Slave Play, Music: Lindsay Jones
The Sound Inside, Music: Daniel Kluger

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Play 

Ian Barford, Linda Vista
Andrew Burnap, The Inheritance
Jake Gyllenhaal, Sea Wall/A Life
Tom Hiddleston, Betrayal
Tom Sturridge, Sea Wall/A Life
Blair Underwood, A Soldier’s Play

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Play 

Joaquina Kalukango, Slave Play
Laura Linney, My Name is Lucy Barton
Audra McDonald, Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune
Mary-Louise Parker, The Sound Inside

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical 

Aaron Tveit, Moulin Rouge! The Musical

**From The Tony Awards Rules: If the Tony Awards Nominating Committee has determined that if there is only one nominee in a category listed, such category shall be submitted to the Tony Voters which may, by the affirmative vote of sixty (60%) percent of the total ballots cast, grant an Award in that category. 

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Musical 

Karen Olivo, Moulin Rouge! The Musical
Elizabeth Stanley, Jagged Little Pill
Adrienne Warren, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical

Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Play 

Ato Blankson-Wood, Slave Play
James Cusati-Moyer, Slave Play
David Alan Grier, A Soldier’s Play
John Benjamin Hickey, The Inheritance
Paul Hilton, The Inheritance

Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Play 

Jane Alexander, Grand Horizons
Chalia La Tour, Slave Play
Annie McNamara, Slave Play
Lois Smith, The Inheritance
Cora Vander Broek, Linda Vista

Best Performance by an Actor in a Featured Role in a Musical 

Danny Burstein, Moulin Rouge! The Musical
Derek Klena, Jagged Little Pill
Sean Allan Krill, Jagged Little Pill
Sahr Ngaujah, Moulin Rouge! The Musical
Daniel J. Watts, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical

Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical 

Kathryn Gallagher, Jagged Little Pill
Celia Rose Gooding, Jagged Little Pill
Robyn Hurder, Moulin Rouge! The Musical
Lauren Patten, Jagged Little Pill
Myra Lucretia Taylor, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical

Best Scenic Design of a Play 

Bob Crowley, The Inheritance
Soutra Gilmour, Betrayal
Rob Howell, A Christmas Carol
Derek McLane, A Soldier’s Play
Clint Ramos, Slave Play

Best Scenic Design of a Musical 

Riccardo Hernández and Lucy Mackinnon, Jagged Little Pill
Derek McLane, Moulin Rouge! The Musical
Mark Thompson and Jeff Sugg, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical

Best Costume Design of a Play 

Dede Ayite, Slave Play
Dede Ayite, A Soldier’s Play
Bob Crowley, The Inheritance
Rob Howell, A Christmas Carol
Clint Ramos, The Rose Tattoo

Best Costume Design of a Musical 

Emily Rebholz, Jagged Little Pill
Mark Thompson, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical
Catherine Zuber, Moulin Rouge! The Musical

Best Lighting Design of a Play 

Jiyoun Chang, Slave Play
Jon Clark, The Inheritance
Heather Gilbert, The Sound Inside
Allen Lee Hughes, A Soldier’s Play
Hugh Vanstone, A Christmas Carol

Best Lighting Design of a Musical 

Bruno Poet, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical
Justin Townsend, Jagged Little Pill
Justin Townsend, Moulin Rouge! The Musical

Best Sound Design of a Play 

Paul Arditti & Christopher Reid, The Inheritance
Simon Baker, A Christmas Carol
Lindsay Jones, Slave Play
Daniel Kluger, Sea Wall/A Life
Daniel Kluger, The Sound Inside

Best Sound Design of a Musical 

Jonathan Deans, Jagged Little Pill
Peter Hylenski, Moulin Rouge! The Musical
Nevin Steinberg, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical

Best Direction of a Play 

David Cromer, The Sound Inside
Stephen Daldry, The Inheritance
Kenny Leon, A Soldier’s Play
Jamie Lloyd, Betrayal
Robert O’Hara, Slave Play

Best Direction of a Musical 

Phyllida Lloyd, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical
Diane Paulus, Jagged Little Pill
Alex Timbers, Moulin Rouge! The Musical

Best Choreography 

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui, Jagged Little Pill
Sonya Tayeh, Moulin Rouge! The Musical
Anthony Van Laast, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical

Best Orchestrations 

Tom Kitt, Jagged Little Pill
Katie Kresek, Charlie Rosen, Matt Stine and Justin Levine, Moulin Rouge! The Musical
Ethan Popp, Tina – The Tina Turner Musical

*   *   *

Tony Nominations by Production

Jagged Little Pill – 15
Moulin Rouge! The Musical – 14
Slave Play – 12
Tina – The Tina Turner Musical – 12
The Inheritance – 11
A Soldier’s Play – 7
The Sound Inside – 6
A Christmas Carol – 5
Betrayal – 4
Sea Wall/A Life – 4
Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune – 2
Grand Horizons – 2
Linda Vista – 2
The Rose Tattoo – 2
My Name is Lucy Barton – 1

# # #

Legitimate theatrical productions that opened in any of the 41 eligible Broadway theatres during the abbreviated 2019-2020 season and met all eligibility requirements were considered for Tony nominations. The 2019/2020 eligibility season began April 26, 2019 and ended February 19, 2020. The Tony Awards will be voted in 25 competitive categories by 784 designated Tony voters within the theatre community.

The nominees were selected by an independent committee of 41 theatre professionals appointed by the Tony Awards Administration Committee, consisting of Emily Altman, Bob Alwine, Becky Ann Baker, Pun Bandhu, Milly Barranger, Suzy Benzinger, Brenda Braxton, Christopher Burney, Dawn Chiang, Eisa Davis, Kristoffer Diaz, Jerry Dixon, Judith Dolan, Jill BC Du Boff, John Erman, Peter Jay Fernandez,  Kamilah Forbes, Scott Frankel, Maija Garcia, Mason Granger, Ann Harada,  JoAnn Hunter, Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Michael Kantor, Nina Lannan, Martyna Majok, John Mauceri, Jonathan McCrory, Sheila Nevins, Peter Parnell, Benj Pasek, Neil Patel,  Rosalba Rolón, Daphne Rubin-Vega, Don Scardino, Kimberly Senior, Natasha Sinha,  Randy Skinner, Niegel Smith, Michael Stotts and Michael Benjamin Washington.

The Antoinette Perry “Tony” Awards are bestowed annually on theatre professionals for distinguished achievement. The Tony is one of the most coveted awards in the entertainment industry and the annual telecast is considered one of the most prestigious programs on television.

The 2020 American Theatre Wing’s Tony Awards are presented by The Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing. At The Broadway League, Thomas Schumacher is Chairman and Charlotte St. Martin is President. At the American Theater Wing, David Henry Hwang is Chairman and Heather A. Hitchens is President.

Press Release & High-Res Images are Available at:

Comments on this entry are closed.