Virtual Music Concert: ALONE TOGETHER (Jennifer Koh)

Post image for Virtual Music Concert: ALONE TOGETHER (Jennifer Koh)

by Connor McCormick on June 24, 2021

in Concerts / Events,Music,Virtual


The dynamic and innovative violinist Jennifer Koh performs a selection of works from her Alone Together series, created in response to the coronavirus pandemic and the financial hardship it has placed on many in the arts community, to be presented by IDAGIO’s Global Concert Hall in partnership with Boston public media producer GBH. The virtual recital will premiere on Saturday, July 10 at 10:00 P.M. CET / 4:00 P.M. ET and stream on demand through Sunday, October 10. Ticket info below.

Ms. Koh launched Alone Together in April 2020 as an online commissioning project to bring composers together in support of the many freelancers among them. Twenty established composers, most of whom have salaried positions or other forms of institutional support to carry them through this challenging time, agreed to donate a new micro-work for solo violin, while also recommending a fellow freelance composer to write their own short solo violin work on paid commission from the artist-driven nonprofit ARCO Collaborative. The result is a collection of more than forty works that embody the solo violin music of today. The New York Times called the series “a marvel for a time of crisis” and the lineup of composers “more inclusive than anything in mainstream classical music.”

Describing Alone Together in an interview for Strings magazine, Ms. Koh said, “A lot of my projects—and a lot of what’s important to me—are based on this idea of inclusivity of underrepresented voices and people who haven’t been heard before. Part of that is the realization that we’re all active members of history. I’m very conscious that every action we take really makes a difference reverberating into the future.” 

Featured on IDAGIO’s Global Concert Hall program are nineteen of the Alone Together works by composers Kati Agócs, Rafiq Bhatia, Patrick Castillo, Anthony Cheung, Adeliia Faizullina, inti figgis-vizueta, Sarah Gibson, Tonia Ko, Thomas Kotcheff, David Serkin Ludwig, Qasim Naqvi, Angélica Negrón, Amadeus Regucera, Nina Shekhar, Lester St. Louis, Rajna Swaminathan, Ken Ueno, Wang Lu, and Cassie Wieland. 

Alone Together is commissioned and produced by ARCO Collaborative with the support of commissioning partners National YoungArts Foundation and generous individual donors of ARCO Collaborative.

Jennifer Koh Performs Works From Alone Together
Premiere: Saturday, July 10 at 10:00 p.m. CEST / 4:00 p.m. EDT

recorded at GBH’s Fraser Performance Studio in Boston, MA
on-demand July 10 through October 10, 2021
for tickets (from $5), visit GCH
Streamed via IDAGIO’s Global Concert Hall

Jennifer Koh, violin

  • Wang Lu: Hover and Recede
  • inti figgis-vizueta: quiet city
  • Ken Ueno:  Better Angels
  • Anthony Cheung:  Springs Eternal
  • Nina Shekhar:  warm in my veins
  • Tonia Ko:  The Fragile Season
  • Rafiq Bhatia:  Descent
  • Kati Agócs:  Thirst and Quenching
  • Angélica Negrón:  Cooper and Emma
  • Adeliia Faizullina:  Urman
  • Lester St. Louis:  Ultraviolet, Efflorescent
  • Sarah Gibson:  You are still here
  • Qasim Naqvi:  HAL
  • Rajna Swaminathan:  Kindling
  • Patrick Castillo:  Mina Cecilia’s Constitutional
  • Amadeus Regucera:  While You Were Away
  • Thomas Kotcheff:  vacuum packed
  • Cassie Wieland:  shiner
  • David Serkin Ludwig:  All the Rage

Recorded at GBH’s Fraser Performance Studio in Boston, MA on Thursday, June 17, 2021. 

Tickets priced from $5 can be purchased from IDAGIO’s Global Concert Hall via The ticket purchase allows the ticket buyer to choose how much they want to pay and directly supports the participating artists through IDAGIO’s Fair Artist Payout Model: IDAGIO pays 80% of the net revenue directly to the performers.

Comments on this entry are closed.