by Aveline MacQuoid on July 15, 2021

in Extras

Ranking the Movies of the Ocean’s Film Series

When it comes to movies jam-packed with thrills and spills, action and adventure and, of course, a major heist or two, the Ocean’s film series undoubtedly comes to mind. The franchise is full of exciting plotlines and a cast of A-list Hollywood actors attempting to take on crazy, out-of-this-world missions.

The Ocean’s series consists of three official films that make up the trilogy and then one female spin-off, Ocean’s 8, which was released in 2018. In this article we take a look at all four editions, ranking them in order and starting with the very best.

Out of all four modern movies, Ocean’s Eleven was the most successful edition

Ocean’s Eleven (2001)

The best and highest grossing film ($450 million worldwide) of the Ocean’s series, Ocean’s Eleven, premiered in 2001 and featured a spectacular ensemble of actors which included the likes of George Clooney, Brad Pitt, Matt Damon, Julia Roberts, Bernie Mac and more. The story saw its main character, Danny Ocean, attempt to take on the daring job of stealing a whopping $160 million from the famous Bellagio hotel in Las Vegas. His actor squad accompanied him and they worked together to make the dream a reality. Rusty Ryan, played by Brad Pitt, is Danny’s main sidekick. Some of the most celebrated scenes from the film revolve around poker, specifically Texas Hold’em where it is relatively easy to follow the action. Whether it’s Ryan teaching the rest of the crew his skills or Danny devising a plan for the ‘perfect hand’, the poker boom of the early 2000s helped to make the remake a massive hit.

Ocean’s Thirteen (2007)

The classic gang (minus Julia Roberts and Catherine Zeta-Jones) returns in Ocean’s Thirteen, the last movie in the three-part series. They come back for one more heist mission: to defeat enemy hotel owner Willy Bank, played by the one and only Al Pacino. Although viewers didn’t show up as much for Ocean’s Thirteen as they did with the first film of the series, it still managed to generate an impressive $311.4 million worldwide. It was also seen as a funnier edition rather than the other two in the series that were a bit more serious with some comedic undertones. Strong performances by Clooney and Pitt still make it worth watching.

Ocean’s Eight (2018)

Ocean’s Eight departed from the original cast that viewers knew and loved and instead starred an all-female group of actresses which included Anne Hatheway, Sandra Bullock, Mindy Kaling, Cate Blanchett and even Rihanna. In fact, the singer-songwriter stole the show with an entire host of memorable on-screen moments. The movie’s storyline centers around the group attempting to steal the $150 million Cartier diamond necklace during New York City’s famous Met Gala. In every respect the movie is a very similar rendition of Ocean’s Eleven but manages to take on a whole new life thanks to its girl gang.

The main actors of the Ocean’s franchise, Brad Pitt and George Clooney,
wore different suits in every movie

Ocean’s Twelve (2004)

The second film in the trilogy, Ocean’s Twelve, was received with the harshest criticism out of all the editions mostly for its slow start. Not to mention the movie had a lot to live up to after such a great premier in Ocean’s Eleven, and thus fell pretty flat. The film saw the same gang together, plotting to take down Terry Benedict again in order to pay back their debt. As far as sequels go, Ocean’s Twelve wasn’t the best received by viewers, but somehow it was still one of the top 30 highest grossing films of 2004, sharing the list with huge blockbusters like Meet the Fockers and The Polar Express.

So, there you have it – the Ocean’s series ranked. Unfortunately, there has been no talk about another movie being made to add to the franchise’s existing bunch of films, but a reunion could always be possible in the future. For now, if you’re on the lookout for more exciting entertainment, check out this list of 2021’s most anticipated dramas.

Comments on this entry are closed.