Film Screenings: KINUYO TANAKA; PEDRO ALMODÓVAR; HAYAO MIYAZAKI & MORE (Spring, 2022, The Academy Museum)

Post image for Film Screenings: KINUYO TANAKA; PEDRO ALMODÓVAR; HAYAO MIYAZAKI & MORE (Spring, 2022, The Academy Museum)

by Tony Frankel on March 27, 2022

in Film,Theater-Los Angeles

WHAT A LINE-UP!

In addition to The Academy Museum’s ongoing series — Available SpaceBranch SelectsFamily Matinees, and Oscar® Sundays — you will find some awesome screenings this spring, including a series on French filmmaker Chris Marker; films by directors Pedro Almodóvar and Spike Lee; six films by Kinuyo Tanaka; and encore presentations of movies by Hayao MiyazakiFilms are shown in 35mm, 70mm, and digital laser projection in the beautiful 288-seat Ted Mann Theater (TMT) and the outstanding 1,000-seat David Geffen Theater (DGT). In some cases, films have been restored by the Academy Film Archive or another film partner. Select screenings include introductions, Q&As, and/or special guests, so please check its website for updates, download the digital film guide, or follow them @academymuseumscreenings on Instagram.

FOREVER A WOMAN: SIX FILMS BY KINUYO TANAKA
April 2–May 6

The Academy Museum is honored to pay tribute to Tanaka’s monumental place in film history with a retrospective comprising six rare and newly restored films.

​​​Wed, Apr 13 | 7:30pm | TMT | DCPForever a Woman with The Moon Has RisenWed, Apr 20 | 7:30pm | TMT | DCP
Wed, Apr 27 | 7:30pm | TMT | DCP
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

PEDRO ALMODÓVAR
April 2–May 6

This selection of films by the singular Spanish auteur, who co-curated the gallery Installation: Pedro Almodóvar, captures the breadth of his distinct oeuvre.

Sat, Apr 2 | 7:30pm | TMT | DCP & 35mmHigh Heels
Sat, Apr 9 | 5pm | TMT | DCP
Law of Desire with Tie Me Up! Tie Me Down!
Sat, Apr 9 | 7:30pm | TMT | 35mm
The Flower of My Secret
Sat, Apr 16 | 5pm | TMT | 35mm
Live Flesh with Kika
Sat, Apr 16 | 7:30pm | TMT | 35mm
Thu, Apr 28 | 7:30pm | TMT | 35mm
Sat, Apr 30 | 5pm | TMT | 35mm
Talk to Her with The Skin I Live In
Sat, Apr 30 | 7:30pm | TMT | 35mm
Fri, May 6 | 3pm | TMT
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

HAYAO MIYAZAKI ENCORES
Apr 1 – May 27

In celebration of the final months of the exhibition Hayao Miyazaki, the Academy Museum is screening seven key films by the legendary director. All will screen on English-subtitled 35mm prints, most newly-struck by the Academy Film Archive.
Fri, Apr 1 | 7:30pm | DGT | 35mmCastle in the Sky
Fri, Apr 8 | 7:30pm | DGT | 35mm
​​​Fri, Apr 15 | 7:30pm | DGT | 35mm
Princess Mononoke
Fri, Apr 29 | 7:30pm | DGT | 35mm
Spirited Away
Fri, May 6| 7:30pm | DGT | 35mmHowl’s Moving Castle
Fri, May 13 | 7:30pm | DGT | 35mm
Fri, May 27 | 7:30pm | DGT | 35mm
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

BRANCH SELECTSOngoing

Tue, Apr 5 | 7:30pm | DGT | 70mmSelected by the Cinematographers Branch.Planet of the Apes
Tue, Apr 12 | 7:30pm | DGT | DCPSelected by the Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch.
Tue, Apr 19 | 7:30pm | DGT | 35mmSelected by the Costume Designers Branch.
The Last Picture Show
Tue, Apr 26 | 7:30pm | DGT | 35mm
Selected by the Casting Directors Branch
Lady Sings the Blues
Tue, May 3 | 7:30pm | DGT | DCP
Selected by the Casting Directors Branch.
The Godfather Part IITue, May 10 | 7:30pm | DGT | 35mm
Selected by the Executives Branch.
One Flew over the Cuckoo’s NestTue, May 17 | 7:30pm | DGT | 35mm
Selected by the Casting Directors Branch.
Dog Day AfternoonTue, May 24 | 7:30pm | DGT | 35mm
Selected by the Writers Branch.Star WarsTue, May 31 | 7:30pm | DGT | 70mm
Selected by the Visual Effects Branch.

Comments on this entry are closed.